Welcome to Turas Press, an independent, Dublin-based publisher dedicated to bringing contemporary poetry and literary fiction to Irish and international readers.

In Irish and Scottish Gaelic, “turas” means “journey.” Turas Press was founded in May 2017 to support writers of poetry and fiction in launching their work into the world, and to make innovative writing accessible to readers who are passionate about literature.  

Here at Turas Press, we are delighted to engage with our readers and writers by bringing our contemporary poetry and literary fiction to you in 2023 and beyond.  If you are a writer who is interested in submitting work to Turas Press, please check our submission guidelines. We are currently closed for submissions.

All Turas Press books are available from our online bookstore As always, if you are close to one of the many super independent bookshops around the country, you can get Turas Press books from them. If you are looking for a book which they don’t have in stock, they can order it for you. And if there is no indie bookstore nearby, you can make your purchase from this website.  

To request review copies of any of our books,  email us here.We look forward to connecting with you, as a reader, a writer or both!

Our New Titles, 2023

On May 10th, Turas Press was delighted to launch two new collections from eminent poets, Eithne Lannon and Julie-Ann Rowell. This is the second Turas Press book from both writers.

Everything Gathers Light by Eithne Lannon

Everthing Gathers Light front cover of poetry collection by Eithne Lannon Eithne’s début collection, Earth Music, was shortlisted for the 2020 Strong-Shine Award. In her new collection, Everything Gathers Light, the poet deepens her immersion in the themes of history, place and the natural world, as well as confronting the personal challenges of dealing with and accepting losses common to all human experience.

“Eithne Lannon’s second collection, Everything Gathers Light, is a primer of discovery and revelation.  Anchored in the rivers and seascapes of North County Dublin, the precision of the language sets a spark of recognition that is universal, thereby reinforcing the sense that one of the primary ambitions of outstanding poetry must be to take the reader home.”  Maurice Devitt

Inside Out by Julie-Ann Rowell

Inside Out front cover of poetry collection by Julie Ann Rowell Julie-Ann Rowell‘s Inside Out is also the second of her collection published by Turas Press. Her previous collection, Exposure (Turas Press, 2019) includes the poem Fata Morgana, which was Highly Commended in the Forward Prize Best Single Poem Category 2020.

Inside Out is a remarkable collection which offers a fearless account of an individual grappling with the physical, emotional and social challenges of living with chronic illness. FND – Functional Neurological Disorder – is a disorder of the functioning of the nervous system whose symptoms include a variety to physical, sensory and cognitive elements. The poet documents her journey from diagnosis through hospitalisation, discharge and eventual recovery. Inside Out is a moving and uplifting testament to the resilience of the human body and spirit. 

“There is no special pleading here and no calling out for sympathy. The poet speaks in her own name but also speaks compellingly on behalf of other sufferers who would not have her stylistic and dextrous way with words. Incredibly, her riveting epic sweep through her troubles is leavened with humour.”            Eamonn Lynskey

Forthcoming titles, 2024

Turas Press is delighted announce the forthcoming publication of two wonderful new poetry collections which we have scheduled for launch in spring, 2024: Highland Boundary Fault by Emma McKervey, and Back From Away by Damien Donnelly.

Highland Boundary Fault is a daring and immersive odyssey that draws the reader into a mesmerising medley of myth, history, art, and a love story that travels from the Outer Hebrides to the Scottish mainland. The wild landscapes of the Highlands, the shipyards of Greenock on the Clyde estuary, the ancient worlds of story, are peopled by a cast of characters who are both archetypes, and flesh and blood, fantastical and familiar, their endeavours and struggles awakening our deepest memories and longings. 

Highland Boundary Fault by Emma McKervey

Emma is an award-winning poet from Holywood in County Down. In 2015 she was the winner of the Poetry NI/Translink Poetry Competition. Her work has been shortlisted and Highly Commended in many competitions, including the Seamus Heaney Prize, the Northern Ireland Poetry Competition and the Bord Gáis Iris Book Awards Poem of the Year. She is a professionally trained musician in cello and saxophone and has engaged in many musical ventures that include collaborations with composers, dancers and theatre. Emma is a member of Women Aloud. Highland Boundary Fault is her second collection.

Back from Away by Damien Donnelly

Back from Away is a bold, courageous, often poignant evocation of the many ways in which the poet’s literal journeys – both leaving, and returning, home – are accompanied by a voyage into the self. With wit and humour, sometimes seasoned with a dash of sadness, the collection explores the challenges of childhood and young adulthood, encompassing adoption, emerging sexuality, relationships. Back from Away brims with insight into the individual’s quest for authenticity in a complex world.

Damien B. Donnelly is the award-winning author of the poetry pamphlet Eat the Storms, a Stickleback micro-collection, and the conversational pamphlet In the Jitterfritz of Neon, co-written by Eilín de Paor, all published by Hedgehog Poetry Press. His work has been published in various journals, online and in print. His first full collection Enough! was published by Hedgehog Press in August 2022. Damien is the host and producer of the poetry podcast Eat the Storms, and editor-in-chief of The Storms, a printed journal of poetry, prose and visual art. Back from Away is his second collection.

Both books will be available for pre-order from the end of October. 

Breaking News!

Turas Press is delighted to let you know that Julie-ann Rowell’s Inside Out has been long-listed for the 2023 Poetry Book Awards! The Poetry Book Awards is an annual, Welsh-based international book award given to the best poetry books produced by indie writers, self-published authors or books published by small, truly independent presses.

We are truly thrilled to see Julie-Ann’s unique and compelling book receiving this recognition. We are rooting for Julie-Ann, of course, and will keep you posted on developments, but whatever the outcome, she is still a winner!